Define EchoRetention in the Registry

Follow

Updated:

Follow steps below to define the Echo retention in the registry.

  1. Click Start.
  2. In the Start Menu, type regedit either in the Run or Search text box, and then press Enter.
Note: If the User Account Control dialog box appears, click Yes to open the Windows Registry Editor window.
  1. In the Windows Registry Editor window, navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\NetVoyage\NetDocuments.
  2. Right-click the NetDocuments registry key, point to New, and then click String Value
  3. After naming the string value EchoRetention, set the desired number (0, 1, 2…), and then restart ndOffice.
Note: Any positive number indicates the number of retention days. If you enter a negative number, letters, or symbols, the value will be set to 0 automatically.

Users with IE can use NetDocuments web interface to change this by going to Settings > Workstation Settings. They can turn echoing on and off and set the number of days. Overly large values can cause performance issues (45+).

Users need to consider the following recommendations when specifying the EchoRetention settings:

  • If the EchoRetention setting is added to the registry and its value is set to 0, documents are deleted from the Echo folder immediately after the user closes or checks them into NetDocuments.
  • If the EchoRetention setting is added to the registry and its value is greater than 0, documents are deleted from the Echo folder after the specified period of time (any positive number set in EchoRetention entry).
  • If the user is in offline mode when documents are supposed to be expired and deleted, they are deleted when the user logs in again to NetDocuments.

To successfully upload the edited document to NetDocuments, its copy should be available in the Echo folder. If the document copy was deleted or has been removed due to some technical issues that might have occurred, the warning message appears notifying users about the failure to upload the document. In this case, users need to do the following:

  • If a document is open, the user needs to save it locally, and then manually upload it to NetDocuments.
  • If the document is closed, the user can check the Microsoft Auto recover feature by going to File > Options > Save to identify whether it has been saved and try to recover it for further editing.

Back to Top

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk