Repository Administrators have the ability to place a litigation hold on workspaces. Documents in workspaces subject to holds cannot have their profiles edited, cannot have the content of existing versions edited, and cannot be deleted.
A Litigation Hold is enabled on the Matter lookup table, which includes a Hold column. It is either turned ON or OFF. “Y” applies a hold, “N” removes a hold, and an empty column doesn’t perform any action.
Learn more about Uploading Lookup Tables.
Holds can only be applied to the attribute on which workspaces are based. In many cases, this is the Matter attribute.
After a lookup table has been updated, there can be up to a 30-minute delay until the Litigation Hold is applied. However, a user does not have to log out and back in to see changes in hold behaviors but may need to refresh the browser if they are currently viewing a workspace that was recently placed on a litigation hold.
When a document’s workspace attribute (matter value) has a hold applied, the document's profile cannot be edited.
When a document’s workspace attribute has a hold applied it cannot be deleted or purged. Such documents are automatically excluded by the retention policy processor.
When a new document is created that has a workspace attribute matching a hold it can be opened and edited once. But as soon as it is checked in it cannot be edited again.
When the attribute value corresponding to a particular workspace has a hold applied, an icon will be displayed on the workspace page indicating a Hold.
When a document has a hold applied, then the content of existing versions of that document cannot be edited. Attempts to edit these versions act like locked versions with a dialog displayed asking if the user would like to create a new version. The new version can be edited once, but as soon as it is checked in it cannot be edited again (while the hold is still in place).
A checkbox is available on the dialog that is shown when a user tries to open a document that is on hold. The user will have two options:
- "Open this document for Viewing only"
- "Copy to a new version and open for editing"
By default, if the version being copied is currently the official version, this box will default to be checked. If the version being copied is NOT the official version, the box will NOT be checked.