Advanced Filing

Follow

Created:
Updated:

You may need to file one document into two different folders (with the same Document ID) rather than having two separate copies in each folder. There are two different methods that you can use to accomplish this.   

1. Search method

With this method, you will need to bring up the document in a list view other than the folder that it is currently filed in (Search, Recent Docs, etc.). You can then check the box next to the document and go to More Options and select the Move/Copy option. Here you will need to select the other folder that you want the document filed in and use the "Move" option to move it. This will file the document in the selected folder but it will not remove the document from any folders it may already be filed in.     

2. Advanced Filing method

The second method you can use is referred to as "Advanced Filing." You will first need to go to your Settings menu at the top-right and go to Application Settings. Here you will see the Advanced Filing option. Check the box next to it and then click OK.  

advanced_filing

NOTE: This method is to be used in folder-based cabinets; it can't be used to "file" a document into multiple workspaces. In workspace-based cabinets, because a document cannot have more than one Matter profile assigned to it, a document must belong to only one Matter workspace at a time. 

Once this is enabled, open the folder that the document is currently filed in and select the document. Click More Options on the right and click the Move/Copy option. You will notice a third button called "File" at the bottom.

advancedfiling

This option will file the document in the selected folder but it will not remove it from any folders it is already filed in. When a document is filed in more than one folder, any edits made to the document will be reflected in each folder. They are "links" to the same document (same Doc ID).

Another option that is included with the Advanced Filing feature is the "Unfile from folder" option listed under More Options.

unfile_doc

You will only see this option if you select a document while viewing the item in a folder; it will not show up if you are in a Search Result or workspace view. This option will unfile the document from the folder that you are currently in but it will leave it in any other folders it may be filed in. 

NOTE: The Advanced Filing option will only be available if you do NOT have the "Force filing in a folder" option selected on your Cabinet Admin page

Back to Top

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 3 found this helpful

Comments

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk