This article describes the Check In/Check Out function, the nenote.exe (Check In List) process, and the Echo Folder.
Editing Documents in NetDocuments
Documents that are stored in NetDocuments must be edited in another application - such as Word, Excel, Office Online, etc. To do this, a document must be "checked out" from NetDocuments (reserved so that other users may not edit it), and then downloaded to the application where it is to be edited.
Check Out - Automatic vs Manual
There are two ways to Check Out a document from NetDocuments - manually or automatically.
Manually checking out a document requires you to select a local location to download to each time you download a document. A document does not necessarily have to be downloaded as part of a manual check out. It can simply be marked as checked out so other users cannot edit it.
An automatic check out happens automatically if you have our ActiveX add-on for Internet Explorer installed. When you click on a document, it is marked as checked out, and then automatically downloaded to a temporary location on your local drive and it will open immediately in the local application. A document will always be downloaded if it is automatically checked out (unless it is already in the Echo folder. See below for more info).
While a document is checked out to a user, other users are not able to make edits to that document until it is checked in.
You can open or download a document without checking it out by a CTRL+Click or using the Download option under More Options.
Check In is the opposite process of Check Out, whether it is done manually or automatically. Edits made to a checked out document will NOT be saved back to NetDocuments until the document is checked in.
When an automatically checked out document is edited and closed, it can be uploaded and checked in automatically by clicking the green Check In button in the browser. The document will automatically upload and check in as one action. The document is then available for other users to edit.
If you use the Check In button at the top right, it will check in all closed documents as a background process, to allow you to continue working in the browser.
If you click the Check In button next to the document it will upload the document as a foreground process. Selecting the top right button may save you time.
If you close a document and do not Check In the document, it will be left checked out until the next time you login and check it in. This means that others cannot edit those documents. If you reboot the computer, any documents that were closed but not checked in, will be lost (unless you have Echoing enabled - see below).
Always use the LOGOUT button to ensure that all documents are Checked In.
To manually check in a document, you can click the Check In button as usual, but you will be prompted to browse to the location where you first downloaded the document to when it was checked out. Uploading it will then overwrite the existing copy in NetDocuments.
A document can be manually reset to Checked In without uploading a file to overwrite the existing file.
The Check In List
The Check In List runs as a separate program on your computer that manages the documents you have checked out. In your Windows Task Manager, it will be listed as nenote.exe (in Windows 8 it will be named NetDocuments Check In List). This program is installed as part of our ActiveX add-on for Internet Explorer.
To view the Check In List, click the number by the Check In button at the top right:
The Echo Folder
The Echo folder is a local Windows folder that is used to cache documents downloaded from NetDocuments. If you have Echoing turned on, a Checked Out document will be downloaded to the Echo folder (instead of the Windows temp directory). This improves performance and provides redundancy. When you open a document, the Check In List will scan the Echo folder and if a copy of that document is already in the Echo folder, that local copy will be opened instead of downloading the entire document again from the server. If the online copy has been edited (by someone else, for example) since the local copy was edited, then the document will be downloaded again to overwrite the local copy.
How to Locate the Echo Folder
The location of the Echo folder may be determined by your Administrator. Otherwise, you can go to Settings > Workstation Settings to view or edit your Echo settings.
Or, you can go to Start > All Programs. Find the NetDocuments Check In List (it may be under the Startup folder).
Click on it, and choose View Echo Folder. This will open the Echo folder.
The Check In List may also appear as a small icon at the bottom right of your Task Bar.
Enabling the Echo Folder
If you enable Echoing, a copy of each document you access will be retained locally for the period of time you specify. During this time, if there is no Internet connection, you are able to access these documents.
Echoing means quicker access to the most current version of your documents. You should not enable Echoing on a workstation that is accessible to others because they may be able to access your Echoed documents. The Echoing settings apply only to the workstation where it is set. These settings will not affect other workstations you use. For security purposes, Cabinet Administrators have the ability to restrict document Echoing in certain cabinets, so in some cases documents will not be Echoed to your workstation even if you enable Echoing.
To enable (or disable) Echoing:
1. Click on Settings
2. Click on Workstation Settings
3. Check (or uncheck) the box to Enable echoing on this workstation
4. Enter a path for the Echoing location (the default is recommended)
5. Enter the number of days to retain echoed documents (7-14 days is best)
6. Choose OK
Changes made to documents in the Echo folder are logged. When a user makes a change to a document in the Echo location, NetDocuments will log that change as an edit the next time that the Echo location is synchronized with the online copy.
NOTE: Editing of documents in the Echo directory should ONLY be done at times when there is no Internet connection. Even in this scenario, documents should be copied out of the Echo folder and edited in a different location. They can be uploaded to overwrite the original copy in NetDocuments at a later time.
Inside the Echo folder, you will see the ndColist.xml. This file lists those documents that are currently checked out.
You may also see a neWebCl.log file. This will list any errors that occurred with the date and time of the error.
Inside the Echo folder, you will also see some files with an .nde extension. Each of these are associated with a document in the Echo folder that has been checked out from NetDocuments. These nde files provide information to the Check In List to make sure the right document gets uploaded automatically.
Resetting the Check In List
From time to time, you may need to reset the Check In List.
You can reset the Check In List by following these steps in this order:
1. Close and Check In all other documents and log out of NetDocuments.
2. Open the Echo folder (Start > All Programs > NetDocuments Check In List > View Echo folder). (If the Check In List is not under the Start menu, it may be a small icon in the bottom right hand corner of the screen.)
3. Open the Windows Task Manager (CTRL+ALT+DEL) and end any nenote.exe (NetDocuments Check In List) processes, this process cannot be running when you perform the next step.
4. Rename the Echo folder to something like "ND_OLD" (this can then be deleted after the issue has been resolved).
5. Reboot the PC.
NOTE: A Cabinet Administrator can disable Echoing for the members of a Cabinet. If you are a member of several Cabinets, it is possible to be part of one Cabinet that will not Echo your documents and three others that will. Ask your Cabinet Administrator about your settings.
If Echoing is NOT enabled, the copy of the document is temporarily placed in the standard Windows Temp folder while you are editing it. It will be removed when the documents is Checked In automatically.
Echoing is Cabinet and computer-specific. It is a NetDocuments setting that does NOT move with you. In other words, if you have enabled Echoing on your PC and later work on a colleague's computer, where they have disabled Echoing, your documents will not be echoed. For security purposes, you may want to leave Echoing disabled on a computer shared by multiple users since all of the Echoed documents may be accessible by others on that computer.