- OS: Windows
- Browser: Chrome, Edge, Firefox
- Office: N/A
- Product: ndClick
If you enable Echoing, a copy of each document you access will be retained locally for the period of time you specify. During this time, if there is no Internet connection, you are able to access copies of these documents.
NOTE: Editing of documents in the Echo directory should ONLY be done at times when there is no Internet connection. Even in this scenario, documents should be copied out of the Echo folder and edited in a different location. They can be uploaded to overwrite the original copy in NetDocuments at a later time.
Echoing means quicker access to the most current version of your documents. You should not enable Echoing on a workstation that is accessible to others because they may be able to access your echoed documents. The Echoing settings apply only to the workstation where it is set. These settings will not affect other workstations you use unless you enable it. For security purposes, Cabinet Administrators have the ability to restrict document Echoing in certain cabinets, so in some cases documents will not be Echoed to your workstation even if you enable Echoing.
Echoing is an advanced NetDocuments feature that can be used to improve performance and reliability of the system. When Echoing is enabled, documents that are downloaded to a client workstation as part of an edit, check out, or save local operation are cached on the workstation. This improves performance and provides redundancy. If the document is accessed again from the same workstation, and it has not been edited elsewhere, the Echo copy will be used without doing another download from the server. Echoing improves document availability, because the Echo copy can be accessed even when NetDocuments is inaccessible due to an Internet failure.
To enable or disable Echoing follow these steps:
Click on Settings
Click on Workstation Settings
Check or uncheck the box to Enable echoing on this workstation
Enter a path for the Echoing location
Enter the number of days to retain echoed documents
NOTE: A Cabinet Administrator can disable Echoing for the members of a Cabinet. If you are a member of several Cabinets, it is possible to be part of one Cabinet that will not echo your documents and three that will. Ask your Cabinet Administrator about your settings.
When a document is saved in the Echo directory, a companion hidden file is also stored in the same directory. Those hidden files are generally not used by the user, however, support personnel may need to access the files periodically.
If Echoing is NOT enabled, the temporary copy of the document while you are editing it, is placed in the standard temp folder under document and settings/username.
Changes Made to Documents in the Echo Folder are Logged
When a user makes a change to a document in the Echo location, NetDocuments will log that change as an edit the next time that the Echo location is synchronized.
Echoing is Cabinet and computer-specific. It is a NetDocuments setting that does NOT move with you. In other words, if you have enabled Echoing on your PC and later work on a colleague's computer, where she has disabled Echoing, your documents will not be echoed. For security purposes, you may want to leave echoing disabled on a computer shared by multiple users since all of the echoed documents may be accessible by other users on that computer.
Note to Repository Administrators: You can configure Echoing across workstations on a LAN using Microsoft's Policy Editor.
Note to Cabinet Administrators: You can enable or disable Echoing capability for each Cabinet of which you are administrator.