History of a Document

Follow

Created:
Updated:

A History of actions performed by each user for each document is maintained in NetDocuments. 

The History allows you to track activities such as edits, access list changes, profile changes, renaming, deletions, and copy.

When you make a copy of a document, entries are recorded in the original document's history and in the new copy's history that refer to each other.

If you are an Internal User you are required to have at least View (V) rights to see the History of a document. If you are an External User, you must have at least Edit (E) and Share (S) rights to a document in order to view the item's History. If you are a user in a ShareSpace, you must have Edit or Share rights to see the History of that ShareSpace.

Individual documents contained in a ShareSpace do not have their own History; the History is logged at the ShareSpace level. Individual versions do not have their own History; they are logged in the document's history. A document's History will log the version an action was applied to.

When you send a notification via the NetDocuments interface, it records who the notification was sent to. If you are using the Desktop Email (MAPI) Integration, a history record is recorded that you sent a notification via MAPI, but it does not record who it was sent to (you will generally have a copy of the email in your MAPI email Sent Items folder with that information).

Note also that the events recorded in the History may differ depending on the combination of the ActiveX, ndOneClick, and/or ndOffice that the user has installed. For example, ndOffice will not log an "Opened" unless ndOneClick is also being used, but ndOffice will log "Edited" and "Checked In". This is because an "Open" is implied if the document is checked out and edited.

Repository Administrators may have access to additional logs of user activity by requesting a Consolidated Activity Log

A summary of the actions recorded in a document's History:

  • Access modification
  • Approve
  • Check In
  • Copy (using Move/Copy)
  • Delete
  • Delete a version
  • Deliver a secure link
  • Designating an official version
  • Download
  • Edit (content)
  • Edit profile 
  • Email Link
  • Email Copy
  • New Version
  • Open
  • Move (using Move/Copy)
  • Print
  • Rename (includes the old name)
  • Sign
  • View (includes Review) 

Back to Top

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful

Comments

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk