Version Management

Follow

Created:
Updated:

NetDocuments Users are able to create multiple versions of a document. Users with at least View/Edit (VE) rights to a document can open, view, or create new versions of a document. Only a document administrator (VESA rights) may delete individual versions.  

Official vs Latest Version 

Each document has one version designated as the "official" version or the default version. The most recent version defaults to be the "official" version, but is not required to be the official version. So, the latest version and the official version are not always the same one. If a user opens the document directly from a List View page, the official version is automatically opened for editing rather than the latest. The official version is the "default" version - the version that will be used by default when selecting, opening, downloading, or emailing a document. 

A cabinet setting exists that determines the level of access a user needs in order to designate an official version. It either requires A (Administer) or E (Edit) rights to the document. 

Version numbers display in two places - in the details panel and after the document name - as shown below:

version_details.png

In the example above, the highlighted document has a total of two versions, as indicated in red. But, the official version is Version 3, as indicated at the right in the details panel. In this case, the document had a prior Version 2 that was deleted, but the official version remained Version 3. 

When searching for documents, the official version will be returned in the search results. Only the official version of each document is full-text indexed.

Version Management Dialog

From the Document Details Panel of a document, click the "Options..." link under the Versions section. This will open the Versions Dialog window, as shown below.

NOTE: For those using ndOffice, see also our ndOffice Help page to learn more about managing versions in ndOffice.

You can also get to the Versions Dialog box by clicking the "v#" by the document name. From the dialog, you can click an individual version to open it. You can also hold the Ctrl key down when you select a version to open it in Read-Only mode.

version_dialog.png

There are two approaches to versioning:

1. Manually creating versions is the most common method as described in this first section.  With this method, a new version is created when a user explicitly adds a version either from the browser interface or from within an application using the Office add-ins. 

2. The second method allows a user to set a document to automatically create a new version whenever a different person modifies the document. The document will stay in this auto-version mode until the user disables the auto-versioning option.  The auto-versioning feature is described in the second section of this help page.   

Manually Creating Versions 

Designating the Official Version

  1. Open the Versions Dialog box
  2. Select a version to designate as the official version
  3. Click the Make this the official version link
  4. Click Close

To Add a Version:

  1. From the Versions Dialog of a document, click the Add Version option.
  2. Type a description (optional) for the new version and click OK.  Then you can open the new version.

Saving as a New Version 

There are multiple ways to save a document as a new version. The option is available from within Word when using the Office Integrations under Save As. It is also available under the Check-In List button at the top right. 

Or, from a List View page, the Check In as new version button on the Document Options menu will prompt you to create a new version and then immediately check in the previous version. Alternatively, you can create the new version when you first open the document by using the Check Out as New Version option. 

Import/Upload New Version 

If you click the Upload Version on the Document Details Panel, you can select a local document and import it as a new version of the selected online document.  It will be imported as the official version by default. If you have an attachment to an email that you want to save as a new version, this is the best option to use.  Just drag the attachment in the email to your Desktop, then use this option to save it as a new version of an existing document in NetDocuments. You can also use the Word Integrations to Save a document as a new version of an existing document.  

Using the Send to Application Option from the Versions Dialog to Compare Versions 

Using the Send to Application option two or more versions can be compared using the DeltaView product.  Highlight and click the Send to Application option, then highlight another version and click the Send to Application option, then run the DeltaView comparison.  You will have the option to save the compared document as a link or as an attachment to your document.

Copying from the Versions Dialog 

Selecting the Copy as new Doc will make a copy of the version that is highlighted and create it as a new document in NetDocuments.  It will also copy any custom Profile values that exist for the original document.  You can then locate the new copy and rename it if you choose, file it in a different folder and edit the Profile or security of the document.  If the original document is filed in a folder, the new document will be automatically filed in that same folder.

Emailing from the Versions Dialog 

From the Versions dialog, a user can choose any of the versions and email them as attached copies outside of NetDocuments.  If you are using the Email Integrations, your MAPI-compliant email, such as Outlook will display a Send dialog.

Locking a Version 

If you have at least E rights, you can "lock" a version.  This will keep the version from being altered.  You can also include a description such as "Sent via Fed Ex".  You cannot unlock or delete a locked version.  The person with "A" rights to the document can, of course, delete the document if desired.

Version Access 

This feature allows Users with "A" (Admin) rights to restrict access to individual non-official versions of a document. Document-level security still applies and will govern the document’s visibility in searches and other list views. Learn More.

Deleting a Version

You can delete an individual version of a document. When you do this, the version numbering sequence of the document continues regardless of which version is deleted and regardless of which version is used to create subsequent versions. For example, if you have a document with 3 versions, and you delete version 3, then the next version will be version 4. So, you will have v1, v2, and v4. Similarly, if a document has v1, v2, and v3, and you delete version 2, then the next version will still be version 4, leaving you with v1, v3, and v4.  

When you delete a version, it will place this version in the Deleted Items as a new document with a new Doc ID. The Created Date would be the date it was deleted and the Modified Date would be the date the version was created.

Automatically Creating Versions 

A user can turn on auto-versioning for a document. Auto-versioning means that when another user edits the document (other than the person who enabled the setting), a new version will be created. If the person who enabled the setting edits the document, then it will not automatically create a new version. The document will stay in this auto-version mode until the user disables the auto-versioning option. 

To set the Auto-versioning option for a document, go to the document's More Options menu and select the Auto Version option. 

auto_version

You can also select multiple documents at a time to enable auto-versioning. You can also add this option to the right-click menu if desired.

To disable Auto Versioning, use the same option and select the Disable radio button as shown below:

versioning

Back to Top

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful

Comments

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk