Refreshing and Deleting Workspaces

Follow

Created:
Updated:

When a change is made to a workspace template, those changes are applied to all new workspaces going forward; they are not immediately applied to existing workspaces. Existing workspaces will need to be refreshed, reset, or deleted depending on the change that was made. 

Keep in mind that a workspace is not a true "container" in the sense that a folder or cabinet is a container. Rather, a workspace is a webpage that offers a view of a set of related documents. 

Refresh Workspace

  • Available via the UI or the API.
  • Removes/deletes filters and web pages from the workspace page and then creates new ones based on the current workspace template:
    • Organizing containers (filters) will be created for existing documents based on their document types and the existing documents will be organized into those filters.
    • New filters that are created will inherit their access from the workspace’s access.
  • Documents will remain in the cabinet; and folders, saved searches, and ShareSpaces will remain in the workspace.
  • Updates the workspace name unless it has been manually changed by a user.
  • Using the Refresh option will retain any links users have placed on their home pages.   
  • ShareSpaces remain on the workspace page but their location on the page may change.
  • Existing folders and saved searches will remain on the workspace page but their location on the page may change.
  • Existing folders and saved searches will not have their access updated to match the workspace access.
  • Criteria for Saved Searches will not be changed. 
  • Access to the workspace itself is not changed.
  • Workspace description will not be changed. 
  • Users need "A" or Administer rights to refresh a workspace.

Reset Workspace  

  • Only available via the API (not exposed in the UI anywhere).
  • Similar to a Refresh, but the workspace folders and saved searches will be deleted and re-created from the template. Any non-template (custom) folders and saved searches will not be preserved.
  • Removes/deletes filters, folders, saved searches, and web pages from the workspace page and then creates new ones based on the current workspace template:
    • Organizing containers (filters) will be created for existing documents based on their document types and the existing documents will be organized into those filters.
    • New filters, folders, and saved searches that are created will inherit their access from the workspace’s access.
  • Updates the Workspace name unless it has been manually changed by a user.
  • Using the Reset option will retain any links users have placed on their home pages.
  • ShareSpaces remain on the workspace page but their location on the page may change.
  • Workspace description will not be changed. 
  • Access to the workspace itself is not changed (i.e. no PBS is applied).

Delete Workspace

  • Available via the UI or the API.
  • Removes/deletes all filters, folders, saved searches, and web pages from the workspace.
  • When/if it gets re-created, the workspace will have a new URL/NEV and will be built using the current template and any PBS will be applied to the workspace.  
    • It is a completely new workspace.
    • Organizing containers (filters) will be created for existing documents based on their document types and the existing documents will be organized into those filters.
    • All filters, folders, and saved searches that are created will inherit their access from the new workspace’s access.
    • Workspace description will be deleted and re-created based on the template. 
  • Links to the workspace (i.e. on users' home pages) will be removed or will be invalidated. 
  • Users need "A" or Administer rights to delete a workspace.

Back to Top

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk