Agree this adds pressure on our Support teams. There should be configurable rules on deletion by firms. Appreciate there are scenarios user deletion will be a risk but i believe there is a better solution than as is.
Cabinet wide DELETE access
Currently the only way to allow cabinet wide delete access is to also grant the user "Administer", but this would also grant the user access to the admin console which is too much. Can we please have a special access permission just for Deleting things? I'm not sure why it needs to be bundled with Administer. We don't want users to send us "Delete request" tickets every time they want something deleted.
Please sign in to leave a comment.
In the interim; we use a workaround you may find useful.
We have setup a workspace called 'DELETE'.
Staff only need VE access to a doc, they can Edit Profile and change the workspace details to our 'DELETE' workspace. This removes the document from the workspace, and Admins can delete docs from the workspace.
Other alternative approaches to Gail's helpful workaround is to update the document name with [DELETE], the support team can search for this term and remove the documents. Otherwise you can set up another profile attribute with Delete as an option, again the support teams can then search for this and remove or move documents to another location.
We have users name documents "DELETE ME" and I have a saved search on my home page that I go through daily and delete the documents. The only issue I have found even with deleting is that if a document is renamed and deleted by mistake that the "Undelete" option may not work properly because of indexing.
I'm not sure what I'm missing, but this isn't how things work for us. We give people VESA access to documents related to their clients. The admin access on the document does not provide access to the admin console. The two are separate.
People can delete files. The files go into a gray space of deleted items. As an admin on the repository and cabinet, I have the power to restore or permanently delete the items. I go in on the 1st of each month, run a search for deleted items beyond 30 days old, and delete those items, keeping the most recent 30 days of deleted items in case someone accidentally deleted something they need for me to restore.
This has been working well for several years. Let me know if you have questions.
Samson, I read your post and VerQu's Hive solution can help you with your request. Feel free to contact me at email@example.com