Post

5 followers Follow
4

Reuse a Deleted Version Number

I have a client that would like to delete a version of a document and then reuse that version number instead of having a missing number in the sequence.  There are a lot of people who are discussing version numbers not matching document numbers, but I can't find anything about reusing the number.

Perhaps if a document is permanently deleted by the Admin, the number can be reused?  Or an option when you delete a document in a sequence, the option to reuse the version number is offered.

Status: Planned

Please sign in to leave a comment.

3 comments

1
Avatar

I can't believe nothing has been added to this post from over 2 years ago.  I'm posting my comments here as well as under a few other threads in hopes of getting some traction:

 

1 vote
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

We have a plan to expose deleted versions (Version 4: Deleted by Michael Smith on 12/18/2018) which will clarify what happened to each version. This is expected to be implemented in the second half of 2019.

0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
1
Avatar

@ Tanner Phillips:  Exposing deleted version only solves part of the problem.  Some clients (especially in Real Estate and Banking) are hypersensitive to the sequence of versions as recorded in the document number footer.  If a version is accidentally created and needs to be deleted, then the numbering skips a version and the client loses confidence in the integrity of our work product because they assume a version has gone missing or worse. 

1 vote
Comment actions Permalink