Post

3 followers Follow
17

Dynamic Workspace Names

If you change or update a Client/Matter Name, it doesn't automatically update the name on the workspace or on the favorites link on the Homepage.   It woulld be nice just to change the attributes and have those changes cascade throught the system, instead of having to delete the workspaces.

Status: Completed

Please sign in to leave a comment.

6 comments

0
Avatar

Paul,

This feature will be included in our 14.1 Update on February 6th. However, if the name of the workspace has been changed otherwise (through the customize workspace option, for example) then the name of the workspace will not change automatically to reflect the updated name in the lookup table.

0 votes
0
Avatar

Russell this is great news.  Is there a way to run a report to tell which workspaces have been "customized"?  How can we set them so they'll be dynamic again?  We've been manually updating workspace names as matters have changed to keep things synchronized (as I'm sure many others have).  I'd like to know which matters we need to go "reset".

Thanks

0 votes
0
Avatar

Shane,

We do not log which workspaces' names have been customized. But, if the name displays differently than the profile attribute value, then it probably was changed manually. In which case, it will have to be reset in order for the name to be dynamically updated going forward. If you are currently using both a Key and a Description field, changing a matter name in the table would be a better option than customizing the workspace name.

0 votes
0
Avatar

Russell,

In order for the Customized Workspace name to not be overwritten by the dynamic workspace there has to be a setting or a value in a field which says don't use the dynamic name.  I'm looking for a way to know which matters have that value.  The other option would be to run a comparison of the matter workspace names against the lookup table matters to find the differences.  You may not be able to determine how to search for this until after 14.1 is released, so I'm not needing this now.  However, it would be great to be able to get a list at some point in the future of matters we need to reset. 

Thanks,

Shane

0 votes
0
Avatar

Michael,

I'm seeing this too with one of my clients. The name is not updated in the nav pane or on the home page, until the user logs out/in (because most changes to the nav pane do not take effect until the next log in). Or, if they visit the Edit Profile page of the workspace, then hit 'cancel' then the name is updated everywhere. 

0 votes