Announcing ndSync for Windows 2.3.4 Beta 1 availability
ndSync for Windows, version 18.104.22.16853 Beta 1 is now available and ready for testing. If you would like to participate in the beta test, send a list of email addresses to include in the current and future ndSync beta tests to firstname.lastname@example.org. We will respond with instructions to download the software and how to provide feedback.
Version 2.3.4 consists of new features, bug fixes, code refactoring and performance enhancements. It includes all of the features referenced in the beta announcement for ndSync 2.3.0 for Windows. In addition, version 2.3.4 includes the specific changes described below. (The changes described below will also be included in an upcoming version of ndSync for Mac.)
Support for Moving Documents and Folders
In previous versions of ndSync, if a user moved content from one synced location to another synced location on their computer, on the server this move was treated as two separate actions: (1) the original moved content would be deleted and (2) the content in the destination location would be added as new content. As a result, moving synced content was discouraged.
For example, if “Agreement.docx” (DocID 1234-5678-9012) was moved from the “Correspondence” folder to the “Agreements” folder, then the document with DocID 1234-5678-9012 would be deleted from the server and a completely new document (“Agreement.docx”) with a new DocID would be added to the server in the Agreements folder. In the case where the user did not have the right to delete the original document on the server, the original document would be restored back to its original location AND a copy of that document would added to the destination it had been moved to as a new document.
Starting with version 2.3.4, moving content between synced locations will now be respected on the server side, where it will also be treated as a move, not as a deletion and add, and therefore users are encouraged to move synced documents. But a user will still need sufficient rights on the server to move any synced content, and if the user lacks those rights, then ndSync will revert the move, restoring the content to the original location and removing it from the intended synced destination. Moving content out of the ndSync folder will also be rejected and reverted, as that would be treated as an attempt to delete the moved content, but a copy of the content will still remain in the destination.
Restrictions on Deleting Synced Content
Users may inadvertently delete synced content in the mistaken belief that the deletion will simply unsync the content, when in reality that deletion will be propagated to the server. Out of an abundance of caution, and based on feedback from clients, we have added restrictions on the ability of users to delete synced content and have those deletions propagated to the server.
Starting with version 2.3.4, if a user needs to delete synced content and have that deletion propagate to the server, there will be only one way this can be accomplished, by using the ndSync actions -> Delete context action:
Selecting the Delete action will trigger a confirmation prompt:
Note that deleting content using the ndSync Delete action will permanently delete the content from the user’s computer, but on the server the content will only be added to the recycling bin.
Other methods of deleting synced content from the user’s computer will not be propagated to the server, including using the native Windows Delete action, dragging and dropping synced content to another location, cutting and pasting content, or any similar action. ndSync will not propagate those deletions to the server and instead will restore the deleted content from the server to the user's computer. In that case, the following notification will be displayed, explaining how the user can properly delete the synced content:
Because deletions of synced content can only be accomplished using the ndSync Delete action, the Delete action has been enhanced in two ways:
- It is now possible to select multiple synced documents to be deleted at the same time. (Previously, only a single synced document could be deleted at a time.)
- Individual folders may now be deleted. (Previously, the Delete action was not available for synced folders.)
Notwithstanding this new feature, a user’s ability to delete synced content remains subject to the user having sufficient access rights to the synced content (i.e., VESA rights). Even if a user takes the appropriate steps to delete synced content, the deletion will not succeed if the user lacks appropriate rights to do so on the server. In that case, the deleted content will be restored to the user's computer from the server.
Please note: By downloading and installing the beta candidate, you acknowledge that this is pre-release, beta software that has not been released to production and may be further modified before it is released to production. NetDocuments makes no warranties that the beta candidate is free from bugs. Exercise appropriate judgment when using this software on any documents that have been generated in the course of your firm’s business. Please ensure that anyone with whom you share this beta candidate is aware of this acknowledgement before installing the software.