Announcing ndSync 2.3.0 Beta 1 availability.
ndSync for Windows, version 22.214.171.1248 Beta 1 is now available and ready for testing. If you'd like to participate in this testing, register with us by sending a list of email addresses you'd like supplied with beta versions. Send this list to: email@example.com and we'll deliver instructions to download the software and how to communicate with us.
Version 2.3 consists primarily of bug fixes, code refactoring and performance enhancements. For example, documents are now uploaded and downloaded using multiple threads.
In addition, these specific changes have been made:
Support for Windows 10 Long File Paths
One limitation of ndSync for Windows (but not for ndSync for Mac) was the inability to sync content from the server to the user’s computer if the total path length of the content exceeded ~260 characters, the maximum path length that has historically been supported by Windows. (The 260-character calculation includes the portion of the path dedicated to ndSync itself, such as: “C:\Users\[username]\ndSync”.)
In 2016, Microsoft introduced a new feature in Windows 10 that permits (essentially) unlimited file paths. ndSync for Windows 2.3 supports this feature.
First, it is necessary to enable this feature in Windows 10. There are at least two ways to do so, but we suggest working with your IT Department before making this change. This article describes the two methods: using either the Registry Editor or the Local Group Policy Editor.
ndSync v2.3 will automatically detect when the Windows 10 Long File Path feature has been enabled. No setting is required to be changed within ndSync. If long file paths do not appear to be supported after installing ndSync v2.3 and enabling Windows 10 Long File Paths, make sure the feature has in fact been enabled by manually creating a long file path on your computer and, if necessary, restart your computer.
Maximum Number of Documents Indicator
If a synced container has the maximum number of documents that can be synced (5,000), then a synced overlay icon with an exclamation point is shown on the container:
In previous releases, if a synced document had been edited locally and while being saved to the server it was determined that the copy of the document on the server had already been modified or was checked out, then ndSync would save the locally edited document as an unofficial version on the server and future edits would be saved to that unofficial version. That way, no data was lost. When the locally edited document was closed, ndSync would restore the official version of the document from the server to the user’s computer. The unofficial version would therefore only exist on the server. Starting in version 2.3, when the locally edited document is closed, the unofficial version will also remain on the user’s computer, but it will be renamed to indicate that it is the unofficial version and the unsynced overlay icon will be added. For example:
The official version will still be synced down from the server to the local device. Future changes made to the local, unofficial version will not be synced to the server.
Empty (aka, zero-byte) documents that are created locally will not be synced to the server.
Adding Content to Unsynced Containers
The user will receive a warning if they attempt to add content (a document or subfolder) to a container that is part of the ndSync folder tree but where the container itself has not been synced (such as if it is an ancestor of a synced container).