- OS: Windows, Mac
- Browser: N/A
- Office: N/A
- Product: ndSync
Table of Contents
- Download and Setup
- Sync Agent
- How Syncing Works
- Sync Location
- Document Options
See our ndSync FAQs for more information.
ndSync is available on both Mac and Windows operating systems.
Supported operating systems:
- Windows 7, 8, and 10 (32-bit and 64-bit)
- Mac OS 10.11 (El Capitan) and 10.12 (Sierra)
Note that ndSync must be enabled by a repository administrator in order to sync content with that repository.
Download & Setup
Use the links below to download the desired version of ndSync.
NOTE: The download links below will default to the Vault (US) Service, unless the Host has already been set on the workstation.
|.exe||.msi (32-bit)||.msi (64-bit)||Current Version|
ndSync can be installed using either an .exe "bootstrapper" or the regular .msi. The .exe version will detect the version of windows (32- or 62-bit) and then installs the correct version of the .msi, on a manual install.
|ndSync for Mac||Current Version|
To set up ndSync:
- Click through the installer.
- Login using your NetDocuments username and password.
- Select items to sync (you can adjust these settings later).
From the web UI, you can also select the folders, workspaces, or filters you want to sync.
NOTE: Users can NOT sync entire cabinets, individual documents, ShareSpaces, or Saved Searches.
The ndSync Agent is the local software that is installed. It can be accessed from the system tray on a PC (menu bar on a Mac):
With ndSync, you will be able to have your Recently Edited Documents list and Home Page documents available on multiple computers without effort, even without Internet access. You can carry around and edit all active documents. For example, you can take them with you on your laptop when on an airplane.
This will manually initiate both a "pull" and a "push" between ndWeb and the local ndSync location to update the documents in both locations.
You may at times be working "offline" when there is no Internet connection. You can still edit your documents locally in your ndSync location, and when you reconnect to the Internet, the sync will automatically run, or you can manually initiate the sync.
A list of items on your Home Page is available through the ndSync agent. Items that have been synced will have a green check mark. Clicking these items will open the item locally.
Items that have not been synced will appear with a red icon. Clicking these items will take you to that item on ndWeb.
Recently Edited Documents
Clicking View Recent Documents will show a list of your recent documents, with synced documents designated with a green check mark. Documents that have not been synced are marked with a red icon.
View ND on the Web
This button will take users to the web browser to view the web interface.
Activity Logging & History
A sync does NOT count towards the download threshold.
Edits and downloads using ndSync are NOT recorded in the Consolidated Activity Log.
When syncing a folder or filter, the sync will not be recorded in the History of the folder or filter.
When a document is synced, a Download is recorded in the Document History. (When a sync is manually run, if a document has not had any changes to it, then it will not be downloaded a second time).
If a synced document is edited locally while it is checked out from the web or ndOffice, and a Sync is run, then the local edits will overwrite the server copy but it will remain checked out. When the user goes to check in the document via the web or ndOffice, they will see this message:
The checked out copy will be uploaded and checked in as a new unofficial version of the document.
How Syncing Works
ndSync will also support multi-device synchronization, allowing you to BYOD (Bring Your Own Device). Mac users can use ndSync the same way a Windows user would. ndSync is not just for collaboration, but can be more widely used for mobility.
Push vs Pull Sync Technology
Push technology, or server push, describes a style of Internet-based communication where the request for a given transaction is initiated by the central server. It is contrasted with pull/get, where the request for the transmission of information is initiated by the receiving agent or client.
ndSync “pulls” any changes made to documents on your computer up to the servers (ndWeb). This sync is immediate or as fast as it can based on the file size…larger files will be a bit slower.
A change made to a document on the server (ndWeb) or via ndOffice is "pushed" down to the computer or the “agent” (ndSync). This sync is throttled with the minimum of 1 hour syncing. The minimum is one hour but it slows down once you get into the thousands of documents to sync.
The ndSync agent will automatically "push" all synced folders, workspace, and filters to the computer once every 30 minutes, unless manually synced.
However, you can manually execute the push sync at any time by clicking the Sync Now option from the system tray.
A download or "push" sync will generally be slower than an upload or "pull"' sync. This is because checking which online documents have changed takes more processing resources.
Sync a Folder (or Workspace or Filter)
To sync a folder (or a workspace or filter), go to Options > Sync Folder:
This will "push" the folder's contents to the local sync location, on devices where you have ndSync installed.
You can do the same for a workspace or workspace filter.
Syncing a workspace will include the workspace's folders and filters - up to 1000 items in each container. This will not include ShareSpaces or Saved Searches.
NOTE: ndSync will only sync up to 1,000 documents per folder. So, if I have 1200 documents in an online folder, and I sync the folder, it will only download the first 1000. If I then add a 1001st document into the local sync folder, that one document won’t be uploaded. Any documents beyond that will remain unsynced and marked accordingly, whether they are added from the server or client. This limit may increase or be removed in a future version of ndSync.
The web UI has an icon indicating that the workspace is synced, as shown below:
To unsync a folder (or workspace or filter) from ndWeb, go to Folder Options > Unsync Folder. Click OK:
This will remove the folder (or workspace or filter) from all local locations where it is synced.
NOTE: Deleting a document, folder, or workspace from the local ndSync folder will delete that item in NetDocuments. If you wish to remove documents from ndSync without deleting them, simply unsync the folder or workspace.
NOTE: The sync location can NOT be on a shared location. Each user must have their own sync location on the PC/device they log in on.
For Windows Users
After enabling and installing ndSync, the sync location can be found at:
C:\Users\<username>\ndSync\<username_SERVICE>\<repository name>\<cabinet name>
As shown below, you will have access to any workspaces, filters, and folders that have been synced.
For Mac OS Users
On Mac OS, the sync location can be found at:
Document Options are available in ndSync from the Windows right-click menu:
Go to document in folder online - This will open the web UI and take the user to the folder where the document resides.
Get link - This will copy the Document URL to the Windows clipboard.
View document online - This will open the web UI and take the user to the document.
Sync now - This will initiate a sync, where any changes that have been made locally will be synced to NetDocuments, and any changes made online will be pushed to the device.
Check out - This will mark the document as Checked Out.
Permanently Delete - Access rights are respected. If a user cannot delete a document in NetDocuments, then they will not be able to delete that document through ndSync. In addition to deleting the document in NetDocuments, this option will also permanently delete it locally, meaning it can not be recovered from the Recycle Bin.
You can select folders, workspaces, and filters by clicking on the ndSync icon in the system tray, then going to Settings > Select Items to Synchronize.
Logs can be found at: C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\NetDocuments\ndSync\Logs
When a document has been edited or uploaded, and then synced, you will receive a notification of the action: