Creating and Deleting Cabinets

Follow

Created:
Updated:

Only Repository Administrators can create new cabinets. However, Repository Administrators may delegate this ability to a non-admin User Group. Only one User Group can be designated with this authority. Users added to this User Group will be taken directly to the Add Cabinet page when selecting the Admin link in the top right of their screen. A user in this group that has been delegated this authority can also copy any other cabinet where they are a Cabinet Administrator.  A user in this group, along with all Repository Administrators, will become the Cabinet Administrators of any cabinet that user creates. Other Cabinet Administrators can then be added or removed as required.

Repository Administrators have two options for creating a new cabinet:

1. Create a new "empty" Cabinet. Creating an empty Cabinet means that a new cabinet will be created with no pre-filled configuration values or data.

2. Copy an Existing Cabinet. Allows you to create a new cabinet and pre-fill it with up to 500 items from an existing cabinet. You can copy all or any of the following information from the existing cabinet:

- Folders

- Documents, Saved Searches, and Discussions

- ShareSpaces

- Cabinet Administrators

- Configurable document attribute selections (Profile fields)

- Cabinet page layout 

Copy-Cabinet

Deleting a Cabinet

On the Repository Admin page, click on the 'Delete' link to delete the corresponding cabinet.

delete_cabinet

If the cabinet is protected, you will be prompted to send an email to NetDocuments Support to unprotect the cabinet. NetDocuments Support will confirm the unprotection request with another Cabinet Administrator before unprotecting the cabinet. Once confirmed, the cabinet can then be deleted.

NOTE: For repositories with many users, you are allowed to create an account that is used solely for Administration purposes.  It is permitted per the Terms of Use to use this account by more than one person for Administration purposes.  It is not allowed under the Terms of Use to use any other user account by more than one person.  You should always change the password when an Administrator leaves the firm or is no longer an Administrator.

Back to Top

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk