Local Document Service

Follow

Created:
Updated:

This add-on feature is used by Administrators to back up all of a firm's online documents using a local dedicated server. If you would like to purchase this feature please contact NetDocuments Sales.  

NOTE: If installing and configuring this tool for the first time, we recommend that you use ndMirror instead. ndMirror is designed to replace the LD Server. 

Download the Local Document Service software (v. 3.7.9)

Local Document Service Administrator's Setup Guide

The LD Service configuration console will look like this:

ldServer.png

Administrators can integrate an external search application to use with their local server:

ldServer2.png

 

Frequently Asked Questions: 

Q: "Will the Local Document Service store the official version or all versions of documents?"

The LD Service will only store the official version of a document.

Q: "If I install the newest version of LD Service, do I need to remove old one first or can I install the new one on top of the version currently installed?"

Installing a new version of LD Service does not require you to uninstall the old one.

Q: "What happens to the local copies of the documents if they are deleted in NetDocuments?"

 The local copies are deleted from the LD Service.

Q: "Our server is running out of disk space.  What is your recommended procedure when this happens?"

a) The best solution is for the customer to find a way to expand the space available to the currently defined storage location.

b) If there isn’t an option for that, then the next best way is for the user to create a new storage location, move all of the existing documents to the new location, and then set the name of the network share to match the existing share. This must be performed while the Sync Agent service is stopped.

Example:

    Current storage location is \\FS1\Storage1\Docs\%client%\%matter%\%creuser%\.

    The customer adds new storage to the system with a new share name – \\FS1\Storage2\, and adds a folder named “Docs” to that share.

    Assign the Sync Agent service user account necessary rights (modify) to this new storage location.

    Stop the Sync Agent service.

    Copy the entire folder tree from the old storage to the new one.

    Rename the network share, so that the new location matches the old name. I.e. \\FS1\Storage2\ needs to be renamed to \\FS1\Storage1\.

    Restart the Sync Agent service.

It is important that the full pathname of all previously downloaded documents not change.

c) A third option is to just define a new storage location while leaving all of the existing documents where they are. This option is not very well supported, and is incompatible with our integration with an external search engine or knowledge base product. If the customer is using such an integration, or at some point in the future may use such an integration, then this option will not work.

The user can implement this option by following the steps listed above, but skipping the ‘Copy entire tree’ step. New documents will be downloaded to the new location. Existing documents that are updated online will be moved to the new location when they are synced.

d) A fourth option is similar to the second option described above, but in this case the name of the storage location changes. If this happens, then before the user restarts the Sync Agent service, they will need to go through the database and fix each row to reflect the new location of the document.

Back to Top

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful

Comments

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk