Using Folders with Filters on Workspaces

Follow

Updated:

NetDocuments does not recommend creating additional folders on workspaces if the workspace's template is configured to use auto-created organizing filters. This is due to the unique differences in design between folders and filters. These differences can cause perceived inconsistencies when users don't understand the nuances between the two types of containers. To promote customer satisfaction and a seamless user experience, we recommend our customers use just one kind of container. 

It is also important to distinguish between template folders (those created from a workspace template) and custom folders (those folders created manually on a workspace). There are a few differences between them.

Template Folders

  • These folders will inherit their profiles as defined on the workspace template. 
  • A workspace Refresh will not update changes made to template folders (unless they are auto-organizing folders). 
  • If the workspace is reset or deleted, the folders will be deleted and re-created based on the current template assigned to client/matter, and the documents will be un-filed from the folders. 
  • Template folders cannot have subfolders (unless they are manually created, then they will follow the rules of custom folders).

Custom Folders

  • These folders must be profiled manually. They will inherit their access and profiles from the workspace, but not from a workspace template. 
  • A workspace Refresh will ignore any custom folders. 
  • If the workspace is reset or deleted, any custom folders will be deleted, and the folders' contents will be unfiled. The folders will not be re-created. 

Many firms may have a single folder tree on each workspace that contains a legacy folder structure. In these cases, some of the implications below may not apply.

Folders and Filters

Below are several implications of using a "mixed" configuration of folders and filters together: 

  • Users can get confused by seeing two different types of containers with different icons and not knowing where they should store documents. 
  • If a user imports a document into a folder and then profiles the document, if the document type filter has not yet been created on the workspace, it will not be created at that time. 
  • If a user imports a document into a folder and then profiles the document, if the filter already exists, the document will still show up in the filter as well as the folder. This can cause confusion for users by seeing the same document twice on the workspace page. Sometimes users will even delete the document thinking that they are two separate documents. 
  • If there is a folder on Workspace A and a user imports a document into that folder but profiles it to Workspace B, it will still show up in that folder on Workspace A even though it was profiled for and also shows up in Workspace B. This can cause confusion for users by seeing the same document in two different workspaces. Sometimes users will even delete the document thinking that they are two separate documents. 
  • If the folder is profiled, anything that gets filed into that folder will inherit the profile of that folder. Sometimes users will inadvertently profile the folder incorrectly and then import a large number of documents into it and then users cannot find the documents by searching because they are not profiled correctly. 
  • If the workspace is deleted, any folders on that workspace will be permanently deleted and the documents inside will be un-filed. 
  • When using folders, users will have to manually move items in and out of them, but with filters users can just change the profiles of the documents and they are automatically moved to the other filter.
  • Documents will never be automatically filed into folders, so users will have to select the folder as a filing destination when importing documents (unless the template is set to organize documents into auto-organizing folders, and/or the name of the folder matches the name of a Document Type).
  • If there is a folder on a workspace that shares the identical name of a yet un-created filter, the filter will never be auto-created.
  • When using folders, users can narrow down a search to search within only that folder (not the entire folder tree). 

 

Back to Top

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Powered by Zendesk