- OS: Windows
- Browser: N/A
- Office: Word, Excel, PowerPoint
- Product: ndOffice
A user opens a Word or Excel file and when they close it, they are prompted to save it. They click "don't save" because they don't want to save it, but ndOffice will automatically save the document into the ndOffice Backup folder. This slows them up because it takes a while to save (if the file is large) and they also don't want all those documents piling up in the backup folder taking up hard drive space.
Can the feature of auto-saving into the backup folder when you click "don't save" be turned off?
Office apps have a default setting to save copies of files when the file is closed even if the user chooses to not save them. This is call Office AutoRecover.
In Excel or Word, go to File > Options > Save and uncheck the box for "Keep the last AutoRecovered version if I close without saving" (see highlight in the image below).
Turning off that option also disables Excel or Word's ability to preserve the last auto-recover file. This means users can potentially lose information if Excel or Word crashes or closes unexpectedly.